Skip to content

2022 Writers Guild Awards Winners List — Best WGA Movies & TV Series – CB

WGA Awards 2022 logo

The 2022 Writers Guild Awards are underway Sunday in a digital ceremony that may see winners topped in three movement image, 17 tv, and three radio and audio classes together with one class for promotional writing. A Black Girl Sketch Present and Ted Lasso scribe Ashely Nicole Black is emceeing the occasion, throughout which honorary awards might be bestowed on speak present icon Dick Cavett and Barry Jenkins, the latter of which is up for a WGA Award tonight for his restricted sequence The Underground Railroad.

Final yr on the WGA ceremony, Emerald Fennell’s Promising Younger Girl gained the Unique Screenplay class whereas the crew behind Borat Subsequent Moviefilm gained for Tailored Screenplay. Promising Younger Girl went on to take the Oscar in the identical class; Borat was nominated for an Oscar however missed out, with The Father ultimately taking the Academy Award.

This yr’s 74th annual WGA race within the Unique and Tailored classes are even much less apples to apples than typical, with the guild’s eligibility guidelines maintaining out Oscar nominees together with Jane Campion’s The Energy of the Canine (which has essentially the most Oscar nominations this yr) and Maggie Gyllenhaal’s The Misplaced Daughter (winner of the predictive USC Scripter Award) within the tailored race, and Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast within the unique one. (The WGA is the one guild that requires a film to have been produced below its Minimal Fundamental Settlement to be eligible.)

The nominees that stay are Oscar nominees in Adam McKay’s Don’t Look Up, Paul Thomas Anderson’s Licorice Pizza and Zach Baylin’s King Richard together with Wes Anderson’s The French Dispatch and Aaron Sorkin’s Being the Ricardos in unique, and Oscar nominees Siân Heder’s CODA (a PGA winner final night time as its marketing campaign builds), and Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth for Dune, together with Guillermo del Toro & Kim Morgan for Nightmare Alley, Steven Levenson for Tick, Tick…Increase! and Tony Kushner for West Aspect Story in tailored.

Licorice Pizza and CODA could have essentially the most momentum coming in, having taking the screenplay honors final weekend on the BAFTAs. Wins tonight would make the Oscars, now every week away, very attention-grabbing.

On the TV facet, there might be a brand new Drama champ topped tonight with final yr’s winner The Crown not within the race. Returning champ Ted Lasso is again, nevertheless, after taking each the Comedy and New Collection trophies final yr. Desus & Mero and Days of Our Lives are additionally returning champs.

See the complete listing of WGA noms competing tonight in movie (right here) and TV (right here).

Examine again beneath as we replace the winners stay all through the night.


Baking It
Writers: Neil Casey, Jessica McKenna, Zach Reino, Niccole Thurman; Peacock


Debunking Borat
Written by Robyn Adams, Paul Hogan, Jack Youngelson; Prime Video


“Retired Janitors of Idaho” (Succession)
Written by Tony Roche & Susan Quickly He Stanton; HBO/HBO Max


Screenplay by Siân Heder
Primarily based on the Unique Movement Image La Famille Belier Directed by Eric Lartigau, Written by Victoria Bedos, Stanislas Carree de Malberg, Eric Lartigau and Thomas Bidegain; Apple


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.