BET International has made rapper Sarkodie their #MCM (Man Crush Monday).

Posting a picture of the rapper born Michael Owusu Addo, the official Facebook page of the Black Entertainment Awards congratulated King Sark for winning “Artiste of the Decade” Award at the just ended Vodafone Ghana Music Awards 2019.

Our #MCM has been crowned the ‘Artiste of the Decade’ at the 20th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards! Congrats @sarkodie #MusicMonday 👑✨🙌🏾”, BET International wrote.

Details on Sarkodie’s Artiste of the Decade Award

According to the Board of the prestigious scheme which is in its 20th year, Sarkodie has for the past ten years, performed better than Efya, R2Bees, Joe Mettle, No Tribe & Nacee, Shatta Wale, Okyeame Kwame, Stonebwoy, Samini and Becca who were all shortlisted for the category.

Sarkodie was ushered unto mainstream music via Duncwills Entertainment, and after some years of working together, a partnership that got them fame, awards and prestige – he is also providing a platform for others in the name of SarkCess Music, his own imprint.

He’s produced 5 major independent albums, ‘Makye’, ‘Rapperholic’, ‘Sarkology’, ‘Mary’ and ‘Highest’. These albums have spawned uncountable hits songs and topped charts across the world.

Sarkodie’s legend transcends the borders of Ghana. He has played sold out concerts across the world, notably among them are the headline-making shows at Apollo Theatre in the US and that at Indigo O2 Arena in UK.

Rated as one of the influential musicians in Africa, Sarkodie has collaborated with the likes of 2Face, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Ice Prince, Phyno and many others.

For the first time in the history of the scheme, gospel musicians received Lifetime Achievement Awards as Prof. Kofi Abraham and Rev. Mrs. Mary Ghansah took their turns as laureates. Highlife legend Obuoba J.A. Adofo was also a recipient.

Held at the new Dome which was constructed purposely for this year’s edition by organisers of the event Charterhouse Ghana, the show recorded huge patronage as usual, with amazing performances from Sarkodie, Samini, Kuami Eugene, KiDi, King Promise, Kwesi Arthur, Medikal, Efya, Adina, Amakye Dede, Sidney, and Burna Boy.

Confusion however rocked the event as Stonebwoy pulled a gun on stage.

He had been called to receive the award for Reggae/Dancehall Artiste for the fifth consecutive time when Shatta Wale stormed the stage.

Unsure of what his ‘rival’s action could be, Stonebwoy pulled out a gun.

The event was halted for more than twenty minutes before calm was restored.

Below is the full list of winners

Traditional Artiste of the Year – Kwan Pa

Instrumentalist of the Year – Mr Okyere

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr Rev Mrs Mary Ghansah

Lifetime Achievement Award – Obuoba J.A. Adofo and

Lifetime Achievement Award – Prof Kofi Abraham

Unsung Artiste of the Year – Kula

Gospel Song of the Year – Diana Hamilton for ‘Mo Ne Yo’

Highlife Song of the Year – Shatta Wale for ‘My Level’.

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year – Shatta Wale for ‘Gringo’

Hip-hop Song of the Year – Kwesi Arthur for ‘Anthem’

Hiplife Song of the Year – ‘Obiaa Wone Master’ by Yaa Pono feat Stonebwoy

Diana Hamilton – Gospel Artiste of the Year

Hiplife/Hip-pop Artiste of the Year – Medikal

Highlife Artiste of the Year – Kuame Eugene

Afropop song of the Year – ‘Akwaaba’ – Mr Eazi, Patapaa, Pappy Kojo

Reggae Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy

Artiste of the Decade – Sarkodie!

Album of the Year award – ‘Rockstar’ by Kuami Eugene

Best New Artiste – Wendy Shay