Home Sports Ghana’s final 23-man squad for AFCON 2019 named – Waris, Ofori dropped

Ghana’s final 23-man squad for AFCON 2019 named – Waris, Ofori dropped

ghana black stars
ghana black stars

A report by Ghanasoccernet.com indicates that highly-rated striker Majeed Waris is among the big names dropped by Ghana coach Kwesi Appiah from his final 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nation.

The France-based attacker, who is wanted by many Ligue 1 sides following an excellent season with Nantes, is surprisingly among five players who will not travel to the tournament in Egypt.

He is joined by Spain-based Yaw Yeboah and Ebenezer Ofori of American top-flight club New York FC who are said not have impressed the coach in the training camp in Dubai.

Home-based duo of Mohammed Alhassan and Abdul Fatawu of giants Asante Kotoko could not make the squad after getting their debut call-ups for the training camp.

READ ALSO:  'He hasn't dribbled past anyone in 3 years' Fabio Capello slams Cristiano Ronaldo for walking out of stadium after being substituted in 55th minute

This means the only home-based player to make the squad is third choice goalkeeper Felix Annan, who plays for Kotoko.

The big beneficiaries are Turkey-based defender Joseph Attamah and Andy Yiadom of English side Reading who were considered players on the periphery of the squad.

Other big winners are on-loan Leed United striker Caleb Ekuban and talented attacker Kwabena Owusu of Spanish side Leganes.

Tricky Serbia-based winger Samuel Owusu who plays for Cukaricki was absolutely fantastic which led to the decision of coach Appiah to leave out Yaw Yeboah as they competed for the same position.

READ ALSO:  Being born into poverty is not a choice, my siblings and I grew up with nothing - Manny Pacquiao


Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Lawrence Ati- Zigi (Sochaux, France), and Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko).

Defenders: John Boye (Metz, France), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England) Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey), Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany,) Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey)

Midfielders: Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Inter Milan, Italy), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew ( Fenerbache, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia),

READ ALSO:  Photos as Michael Essien lands in Azerbaijan to sign for Sabail FC

Strikers: Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor, Turkey and Kwabena Owusu (Leganes, Spain).

afcon squad

CELEBRITIESBUZZ.COM.GH wishes to inform you that we’ll now be giving out ‘FREE AIRTIME” under RANDOM POSTS on our website everyday.

Just stay on CELEBRITIESBUZZ.COM.GH and WIN loads of AIRTIME from all NETWORKS even as you read juicy latest trending news from us.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.