Skip to content

Who owns Martha’s Vineyard?


Martha’s Vineyard is an island in the Northeastern United States, located south of Cape Cod in Dukes County, Massachusetts, known for being a popular, affluent summer colony. Martha’s Vineyard includes the smaller adjacent Chappaquiddick Island, which is usually connected to the Vineyard.

Martha’s Vineyard is divided into six towns. Each town is governed by a select board elected by town voters, along with annual and periodic town meetings. Each town is also a member of the Martha’s Vineyard Commission, which regulates island-wide building, environmental, and aesthetic concerns.

who-owns-marthas-vineyardWho owns Martha’s Vineyard?

The island was originally inhabited by Wampanoag people, when Martha’s Vineyard was known in the Massachusett language as Noepe, or “land amid the streams”. In 1642, the Wampanoag numbered somewhere around 3,000 on the island. By 1764, that number had dropped to 313.

Former President Barack Obama and family are the new owners of an $11.75 million Martha’s Vineyard estate purchased from Boston Celtics owner Wycliffe Grousbeck and his ex-wife, according to a new report. There is ample evidence to show that people were bought, sold, and probated as property on Martha’s Vineyard. In 1700, Reverend Samuel Sewall, a seasonal resident of Martha’s Vineyard, was one of the first to publicly oppose slavery in the New England Colonies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.